Best Small Kitchen Appliances

MixerTrying to fill up your wedding registry with useful gifts? @1800 Culinary Team Member Kellen Ferkey shares his favorite small kitchen appliances.

Immersion Blender:

I have an immersion blender that I can use to do whipping, pureeing and chopping. It has tackled a few soups in its day.  The major thing of note is that I use a “commercial grade” blender. The little blade at the bottom just has a bit more oomph behind it for tackling bigger jobs.

You can make homemade mayonnaise, hollandaise, smoothies, chop dried fruits or nuts, a big batch of French toast batter, or my favorite: coffee drinks.

Food Processor:

Some may argue that the human food processor already exists with knife skills and whatnot, but a good rotary food processor can cut down on time spent at the kitchen counter.  A sharp blade on one of these things can shred lettuce faster than you can open the package.  You might have the masochistic idea of having a pizza party at your house, and lo and behold:  The cheese grater of your dreams!  You can make your own 4-5-6 cheese blends and save those knuckles for chowing down on a slice of pizza pie.

Toaster Oven:

Oh how I love my toaster oven; let me count the ways… When I get married, I hope nobody gifts me a toaster.  The toaster oven is far superior to its strange cousin that only likes bagels and sliced bread.  Can you make a 3-minute quesadilla in your toaster? Your conventional oven can take up to 15 minutes to get to 450 degrees and a toaster oven can do it in 3.  I even use mine to hold bacon to a nice temperature while I make my eggs last-minute.  And it really does a great job on those bagels and bread slices.

Stand Mixer:

I remember my mother handing me the beaters from a hand mixer with chocolate chip cookie dough still clinging to them.  Those days, although nostalgic, are gone.  I would much rather use the stand mixer for any job like making cookies, whipping cream, mixing dough, or even using an attachment to make sausage.  The cleanup is instantaneous if you have a dishwasher–human or otherwise.

Leave a Reply

